A Weekend in London

London01

I got to tick off one of my goals for 2017 by visiting London again. 2 weeks ago I went for a long weekend and for some much needed time off work. The problem with a trip to London though is its not much of a relaxing destination as there is so much to see and do. So I thought I would do this post to show you what non relaxing things I got up to on my busy holiday.

The Big Smoke

I have always enjoyed visiting London and there was a point in my late teens where I was visiting every year. I have always seen myself drawn to the possibility of moving there. However its such a busy, stressful and not mention expensive city at the moment I just enjoy the short visits. I love the culture of the city, the diversity of people and I love finding all these little streets off the tourist areas where you can the chicest little shops and artisan cafes. Some of the architecture in London is just amazing and a blogger’s dream back drops. I have always found London a fascinating city for my photos.

Friday 17th February 2017

London02

After snagging a sneaky first class upgrade on the train and checked into our hotel on the Strand. We headed out for a walk up The Mall to see Buckingham Palace before heading to Harrods. I love Harrods. It is so out of this world. I think even people people who can afford to spend money in there are just as bewildered. Which puts you at ease when walking around the extravagant store. If you are heading to Harrods at some point you need to check out the Shoe Heaven. Its beyond amazing and has a huge selection of brands. I actually wish I had tried a few on as I was eying up a pair of Stuart Weizman ‘Highlander.’

Just before we left Harrods we stopped of to purchase a box of Laudee macarons which I have been dying to try for an age, and they didn’t disappoint. We then headed back to towards Leicester Square where we had a reservation for Bubba Gump Shrimp.

Saturday 18th February 2017

London05

London03

As there was a busy schedule drawn up for the Sunday we decided to try and do most of our shopping on the Saturday instead. So after breakfast we headed out towards Regents St to look at the first lot of shops. For lunch we headed to Choccywoccydoda after looking at some of the more quirkier shops in Carnaby Street. If you haven’t been to Choccywoccydoda then you must go on your next visit to London. The place is ladened with chocolate and the cafe although small is mighty. Next stop was Oxford St. By this point though I still hadn’t bought anything yet so I was looking out for something special to buy instead. And I found that special something in Selfridges, where I bought my first Self Portrait dress!

London04London06London07

In the evening we headed to the Southbank for dinner where we hit our favourite place Wahaca. There was also an amazing sunset that evening so I got a chance to take some fantastic shots from the Thames.

Sunday 19th February 2017

London09

London10

Sunday was our busy action packed day so we had to get up early, have breakfast and get to Madame Tussauds for 10.30. I was excited to see this attraction as it was my sister’s first time and hadn’t been since I was 16. Afterwards we walked down Baker St to see the home of Sherlock Holmes which I have never seen before, we probably would have done the museum if there hadn’t been a massive queue outside.

For lunch we found this super cute little cafe in Soho called L’eto Caffe. Where we indulged in some french toast and crepes, and the most amazing fresh juices that looked more like cocktails.

London08

London11London12

We headed back to the hotel for a rest and to eat some cupcakes from Hummingbird Bakery before getting ready to head out for dinner. I of course put on my new Self Portrait dress that evening. We had a quick dinner in Chinatown before heading to the Royal Albert Hall to see Cirque Du Soleil. Which was absolutely amazing and I am glad we chose to go and see this rather than seeing a musical. I don’t think I can really recommend you to go and see this as I think the production is finished. But if you ever get the chance to go and see a Cirque Du Soleil show, don’t hesitate and just book!

I hope you enjoyed this post, let me know what your favourite thing is to do while visiting London?

Signature2

Leave a Reply

