London Fashion Week Highlights

Over the weekend I enjoyed a nice weekend away in London. It was also the same weekend of London Fashion Week. Unfortunately I was not fortunate enough to attend any of the shows but I did keep an eye out for news and coverage of the weekend. So I decided it was only fitting that I gave you a run down of my highlights from LFW.

Somerset House…No More

Staying on the Strand was a bit bittersweet when it came to looking out for any Fashion Week related attractions. It wasn’t so long ago that Somerset House was dropped as the main venue for the event. If only it was still been in use, I would have been right on the door step. But on a more positive note this has also allowed designers to think out of the box and find unique venues that help transport us into their world of story telling.

So here are my 4 highlights from London Fashion Week

Erdem

erdem1

Erdem’s show was held at The Old Selfridge Hotel and the collection boasted the signature Erdem florals and embroidery. The collection was themed around the designer’s Turkish heritage focusing on historical silhouettes and Turkish fabrics and threads.

 

Mary Katrantzou

mary1

I’ve always loved Mary Katrantzou’s use of bold patterns and colours. I especially loved this collection as it was inspired by Walt Disney’s Fantasia. Silhouettes and fabric choices seemed to be inspired by the 40’s which was the era of the films release.

 

Temperley London

temperley1

I think that jumper basically sold the whole collection for me. I liked the mixture of chunky cable knits and quilted skirts/dresses with silk jacquards. I think I know how my wardrobe is going to look next Autumn/Winter!!

 

Julien MacDonald

julien1

I love looking out for super glitzy collections. I always find myself wondering if and where I would be able to wear something like that to. MacDonald’s collection saw heavily sequinned fabrics, draped necklines and lots of mesh.

Of course there were lots of great shows that were presented at LFW. This isn’t even a handful. The best place to keep up to date on all the latest on fashion month is Vogue Runway. In the Frow is also a great blog to follow during fashion month.

What was your favourite fashion show from London Fashion Week?

Signature2

Leave a Reply

