Why I am Choosing to Print More Photos This Year | LALALAB. Review 

lalalab02I think there is probably plenty of us who scroll through the endless amount of photos on our phones and relive some pretty epic memories. Most of us will share them on Instagram or make an album on Facebook. Recently I’ve reminded myself how special it is to actually have a physical copy of a photo in your hand. You literally are holding a memory.

 

To Print or not to Print

I remember when I was growing up the only way you could have your photos was by taking the film spool to get developed. I mean, in mainstream general photography it’s very hard to come across a camera that still uses a spool. One of the main things I do love about photography is looking back at old photos that are usually crammed into a photo album. But these days everything is so digital and…convenient! You can so simply upload your photos onto your computer and decide what to do with them at a later date. So much so that I have many folders on my computer of past holidays and events and they haven’t been in touched since they were created (not even my Florida photos). If they had all been done on a disposable camera they would have been developed straight away.

lalalab01

So at the beginning of the year I decided I was going to print off more of my photos to create memory scrapbooks. And I was going to start off with photos I had taken from my phone. The best way to do this is by downloading an app that allows you to select, edit and order your photos straight from your phone. Although there is so many to choose from my favourite is LALALAB. and one of their key products is printing off photos on a 10x10cm square format. So it’s basically like having printed versions of your Instagram photos. Plus the app is really straightforward to use which is a huge thumbs up. The quality of the end product is also pretty amazing and considering these photos were taken on my phone camera really does make it worth putting a bit of money into printing out your photos.

lalalab03

The app is pretty straightforward to use so I didn’t see much point in giving you a step by step guide. But I’ve included a few answers to some questions that may come to mind when using the app.

 

What You Need to Know:

1. The app, is it free?

Yes the app is free to download from the App Store (Apple) and Google. And you will need to create an account in order to use the app.

2. What products does this company offer?

A wide variety of printable products including photo books, calendars, magnets, posters, canvas, alu-dibond, and phone cases. On this occasion I bought standard prints.

lalalab04

3. If I choose to get prints done. What sizes of photos are available?

You can get vintage prints which are 10x12cm and they also have a Polaroid look to them. The classic is 10x10cm, regular which is 10x13cm, mini vintage 5.9×8.9cm, XL classic 20x20cm and the XL regular which is 20x27cm. I went for the classic in this case.

4. Is there a minimum number of photos you can have printed?

Yes the minimum is 5

5. Is it just photos from your camera roll that you can select?

No, although you can choose solely from your camera roll. You do have the option of connecting LALALAB with your social media accounts so you can grab photos from the likes of Instagram and Facebook.

lalalab05

6. What features are available within the photo editor?

Surprisingly you can do quick a lot of editing to your photos within the app. It has basic features like brightness, contrast, saturation, vibrance, etc. There is also premade filters, you can add frames, text and stickers to photos also.

7. Would you recommend editing your photos externally before ordering through LALALAB.

This is more of a personal choice. I have a certain aesthetic that I aim for that I can achieve through other photo editing apps so I chose to edit externally first. But you can achieve a good quality edit through LALALAB.

8. What are the delivery times?

They usually try and get your order to you 3-7 working days after you have purchased your order. My order came with a 3-4 working day time frame so they do try to be as quick as possible.

 Hopefully that inspired some of you to start printing some of your photos. I think I will get some memory scrapbooks on the go and use the photos from LALALAB. 

Do you keep hold of things that remind you of fond memories?

Leave a Reply

