Healthy Eating in Edinburgh: Urban Angel Review

 

 It’s the beginning of a new year and for most of us it’s a good excuse to start a fresh. For a lot of people a new year resolution is to get fit and to get healthy. But for me and I’m sure for a few of you out there I never make this a resolution as you always end up putting too much pressure on yourself to succeed and probably end up falling at the first hurdle. But I do like to go on a bit of a detox and eat sensibly for as long as I possibly can. This year though I want to make a proper go of it and be more strict with what I eat. Mainly as an experiment to see how much it effects the condition of my skin and helps my digestion.

UrbanAngel Edinburgh | UrbanAngel Review

A couple of areas that people struggle with when it comes to healthy eating is when it comes to eating out and what to eat after a gym session. So I thought I would start a new series on the blog. Where I renew some of healthy/vegetarian/vegan restaurants based in Edinburgh paying close attention to how healthy they actually end up being, the value for money, the options available on the menu and how close the restaurants are to nearby gyms and fitness centres.

Where is Urban Angel?

 

UrbanAngel Edinburgh | UrbanAngel Review

MBiP Rating:9/10

Value for Money: ££

Address: 121 Hanover St, EH2 1D3

Opening Times: Mon – Fri 8-5, Sat – Sun 9-5

 

Nearby Gyms:

The Pilates Place, Jamaica St (EH3, 6HH)

Nuffield Health, Omni Centre, Leith St

The Gym Edinburgh, Waterloo Pl, (EH1 3EG)

I have walked past this cafe so many times and been intrigued and inspired by their crazily healthy menus. Their bright and open artisan interiors welcomes a cosy and energetic atmosphere. If you are someone who struggles to find somewhere that caters for your special diets and needs then from the moment you walk into Urbanangel you are left reassured that there will be plenty to choose from. Big blackboards fill the walls with smoothie menus filled with fresh fruit and veg and ladened with almond milk and soya milk. And sandwich boards filled with fresh ingredients that make your Christmas indulgences seem like a thing of the past.

Drinks Menu at UrbanAngel | UrbanAngel ReviewCake Stand at UrbanAngel | UrbanAngel ReviewBrunch Menu at UrbanAngel | UrbanAngel

Once finally seated (it was a rather busy Sunday) I got to read the brunch menu in detail including some daily specials. It’s a fantastic menu with a great variety and good options between sweet and savoury dishes to dishes that are plain and simple or exploding with flavours. One thing to note like I said above, they cater for a wide variety of requirements so if need be, if there is something in dish you can’t eat then they can swap it for something more suitable. I decided to choose something quite plain and simple as I had been in Christmas treat mode for so long I didn’t want to scare my body by having something ridiculously healthy.

The dishes sampled are:

Poached Eggs on Toast with a side of Avocado

Chorizo and Mushrooms on Toast

Nutty Butter on Toast with Pears and Plums

Poached Eggs and Avocado | UrbanAngel Review

Poached Eggs and Avocado | UrbanAngel Review

Poached Eggs on Toast with a side of Avocado – Yes this may be quite a simple but yet classic dish to try. But it does display the variety to their menu. You don’t need to be someone with exotic tastebuds to get the most out of a trip to Urban Angel. The eggs to this dish were cooked to perfection, fluffy whites and an amazingly gooey yolk. It was also nice to eat a fresh avocado that had been beautifully peeled and cored unlike the mess I produce at home. And what I loved about this dish was the big doorstop slice of granary bread. Yummy!!

 

Chorizo and Mushrooms on Toast | UrbanAngel Review

Chorizo and Mushrooms on Toast – I think this was my favourite dish out of all that I tried. Mainly because it was the best Chorizo I have ever tasted. I wouldn’t be surprised if it has been sourced from Spain itself. It had such a great smoked paprika flavour that  it flavoured most of the rest of the dish along with it. The chilli never made it overly spicy either which was great for me as I’m not much of a spicy food person. Again with a lovely doorstop piece of granary bread and another well poached egg just rounded of the dish nicely.

 

Nutty Seed Butter with Pears and Plums | UrbanAngel Review

Nutty Seed Butter on Toast with Pears and Plums – I was a bit unsure at first trying this dish as I don’t particularly like peanut butter. But this is definitely not your average peanut butter. This one contains, peanuts, almonds, pumpkin seeds and sunflower seeds. The plums and pears are done like a compote, so they have a sweet glaze over them. Combined with the nutty butter its a great flavoured dish and it certainly didn’t make feel as though I was eating peanut butter. This is a great choice if you are looking for something a bit different to try.

I had an amazing visit to Urban Angel and highly recommend it. It will be a great place to stop by after a gym session especially with their great choice of juices and smoothies. And I will definitely be making a trip back myself to sample their lunch menu. I hope you enjoyed this post and I hope you enjoy this series, I will be completing it throughout the next couple of months and visiting as many healthy eateries in the Edinburgh area as possible. I planning the next review to be Pumpkin Brown which can be found in the Grassmarket. I hope to see you next time.

Have you visited or want to visit Urban Angel?

Signature2

Leave a Reply

