A Day in Glasgow

I didn’t know wither to share this post just because we are now in the new year and this post was meant to go up before Christmas. But I thought you would like to see it and I liked some of the photos I had taken while I was there.

Christmas in Glasgow!

Morning

img_0955
On the morning of the 19th of December we headed to Waverley Station in Edinburgh to grab a train to Glasgow Queen Street. I have always preferred travelling by train it is relaxing, once you are on the train that is. But in saying that it usually is a lot less chaotic than airport or driving at the end of the day especially if you have your timings right. A train from Edinburgh to Glasgow takes approximately about an hour, so I grabbed a quick Gingerbread Latte for the journey.

Arrival in Glasgow

We arrived in Glasgow early afternoon, since we hadn’t had any lunch we headed to Merchant Square. In Merchant Square there is a really nice bar that serves amazing food throughout the day called The Social. Totally recommend here even if you are just looking for a place to have some drinks.

 

Christmas Shopping

 If you have never been to Glasgow, it is a great city for shopping as all the main shops are within the one street, Buchanan Street. So as there was still a bit of time before Christmas, I finished off my Christmas shopping. House of Fraser is a good department store to visit as it has a good variety of both designer and high street brands and it is also the only shop in Scotland to have a Charlotte Tilbury concession.

The 1975

img_0910

One of the main reasons for the trip to Glasgow was to go and see The 1975 at the SSE Hydro. It was my first time seeing them live and also my first time being in the Hydro. I base a lot of my love on a band/artist around their live performances, as it is usually their live performances that grow my interest in them. But I really enjoyed the gig, and it wasn’t as high energy as some gigs I have been to. But if you are a fan yourself, I definitely don’t think you would feel as though you have wasted money.

Sleep Tight in a Hotel Bed

After the gig we had a room booked at a nearby hotel so we didn’t have to battle with the stand still traffic or run for a train. We stayed at the Glasgow Marriott Hotel which is one of the hotels in the SECC/SSE Hydro area. I do recommend the Marriott as it is in good walking distance from the Hydro and Buchanan St where Queen St and Central train stations are.

I hope you liked this post. It was a great trip and and great gig, and hope I get to have a few experiences like it again in 2017.

What was your favourite gig of 2016?

Leave a Reply

