Highlights from S/S17 Fashion Week Season

So September has come and gone (in a flash), along with 4 weeks worth of the latest fashion collections and trends. This time I wasn’t able to keep up with the correspondence to give you week to week posts. But fear not I have gathered my favourites from each city (New York, London, Milan and Paris) to share with you today.

New York

brandonmaxwell

Brandon Maxwell – I first discovered Brandon Maxwell last year when looking over last year’s fashion seasons. I instantly fell  in love with his aesthetic as he creates chic and contemporary tailoring. His designs highlight the female body in the best possible way. Definitely a designer to keep your eyes on.

selfportrait

Self Portrait – This is my favourite brand at the moment. I love everything about these garments and what them all. We are used to seeing highly detailed lace dresses from Self Portrait. But this season the brand revealed a slightly different direction with their ss17 collection by featuring less lace and more trousers. I think its great the brand is now choosing to show a bit more versatility within the collection.

rodarte

Rodarte – This is a brand that I keep an eye out every season to see what they have produced. Sometimes I like what  I see and sometimes not so much but this season they have certainly impressed. This collection is very 70’s inspired, with what i think is a rather romantic western feel. There is a lot of lace, ruffles and big sleeves featured throughout the collection. My cup of tea.

London

peterpilotto

Peter Pilotto – I first heard about this designer from one of Inthefrow’s video where she showed a really pretty  blue Bardot top with floral embroidery design. So this season I made sure to keep an eye out for their latest collection. The brand has an overall quirky feel, but its a wearable quirkiness. The newest collection has a South American flavour with lots of clashing patterns and bright colours, I particularly liked the gingham looks within the collection.

erdem

Erdem – This is another of my favourite designers. I always look forward to seeing what Erdem produces each season. I love Erdem’s use of florals within almost every collection he has produced as of late. His use of fabrics and draping create elegant showstoppers that every body yearns to have in their wardrobe. I can’t wait for this collection to start appearing on the red carpet and magazine publications. And possibly seeing some form of replication on the high street.

Burberry.jpg

Burberry – Now this was an unusual show from London Fashion Week as Burberry chose to show their AW16 show instead of their SS17. So there was a lot of heavy jackets and autumnal tones. What I loved about this collection was the strong military aesthetic. The collection also had a slight gothic twist as there were influences taken from some of Virginia Woolf’s classics.

Milan

giorgioarmani

Giorgio Armani – A great wearable collection from Giorgio Armani this season. A great collection with lots of elegant floaty fabrics and silks.

versace

Versace – This was my favourite show from Milan Fashion Week, such a colourful and bright collection. The athleisure trend plays a big part in this collection with lots of nylon, utility jumpsuits and drawstring gathering. But a very glamorous and chic none the less.

salvatore

Salvatore Ferragamo – I have to admit in the past I haven’t paid too much attention to this designer. But this season lots of floral dresses caught my attention so I had to investigate the collection further. And again I found the collection to be very wearable, in a smart casual way. Some of this collection would be great for a work wardrobe.

Paris

giambattista

Giambattista Valli – This collection kind of reminded me of Erdem I suppose thats one of reasons I am drawn to it so much. But I have always loved Giambattista Valli and their elaborate gowns. The designs to this collection are very sexy and brings forward the trend of underwear as outer wear with bras over the top of tops and bras on show. Very much on show. The collection also features a lot of lace and ruffles which creates a very romantic feel to the collection.

eliesaab

Elie Saab – I love Elie Saab so much, his designs are always a dream. I love how chic this collection is and it has a bit of a rocker twist too. There is a lot of bold block colours and plenty of stars to go around. To add to the stars there is a good supply of floaty and metallic fabrics that it almost represents a rather 70/80’s starry night. Another great show from Paris.

Another great fashion month, with some great inspiration coming out of it too. What was your favourite show from the SS17 shows?

Signature2

 

All images sourced from Vogue.com

Leave a Reply

