Designers That Inspire Me

As I have mentioned many times before on this blog, l love fashion. And I have for as long as I can remember. I have always found it so interesting seeing how other people view, not only what is defined as fashion, but the world, through¬†something as simplistic as designing clothes. For me fashion is and will always be art and a way of expressing yourself no matter how many people turn it purely into a money making machine. Even after spending 4 years studying fashion and knowing how complex and time consuming making a garment can be. I have always been hugely inspired by the craftsmanship side to the industry like tailoring and couture. I also love designers where you can tell a lot of time and thought has went into even the tiniest of details and designers who aren’t afraid of using a large amount of Embroidery, embellishment and fabric manipulation to create beautiful garments.

So I am going to share with you a few of my favourite designers who inspire my work and style.

Alexander McQueen

McQueen butterfly headdress

Alexander McQueen has inspired me for years, he was the reason I wanted to work in the fashion industry. What I love most was his skills in tailoring and how he reinvented the tailoring world by experimenting with pattern cutting and fabric.

Erdem

Erdem

Erdem has helped shape me as the designer I want to be if I ever set up my own business. I love florals and I love embroidery and fabric manipulation. This is what Erdem does, he creates feminine, beautiful dresses with intricate detail. I just love looking at his work, and now my local Harvey Nics is selling his stuff I can now stare at it in person.

Self Portrait

View More: http://traciling.pass.us/nyfw

Quite a new designer in my book of inspiration but I just love this guys work and the quality of these garments is just amazing which makes it difficult to understand why most of his garments are so good value. I hope to own one of these dresses one day, hopefully sooner rather than later.

Monique Lhuillier

MoniqueLhuillier

I love Monique’s beautiful evening wear and bridal collections and I did use her work as inspiration for my degree project. What I like the most about Monique Lhuillier is her choice of bold colours and textile prints.

Ralph and Russo

RalphRussoCouture

Ralph and Russo are just a wonder of the world. I have no idea how the pull off these amazing garments. Ralph and Russo are a couture brand, so every garment is full of intricate detail that takes hours and hours to make.

 These are all designers that I look at straight away when starting new projects. They are also the first designers I look up when catching up on coverage from fashion week season.

These are just some of the designers I watch, I do like others but these are my stand out brands.

Let me know your favourite designers/brands in the comments

Until next time

Stephanie

X

Leave a Reply

