Paris Fashion Week A/W16: Highlights

Hi guys,

Welcome to my Paris Fashion Week highlights for the A/W16 season. First of all I just want to say that I skipped Milan Fashion Week because nothing really got me inspired. I’m not really a Italian fashion kinda girl. So I thought I would just bypass it instead of trying to write a post that probably would have ended up not being that interesting.

So back to Paris, my favourite fashion week! And with it being my favourite I knew I was going to find it difficult to pick five designers, but you will be glad to know that I managed.

So here are my highlights from:

Paris Fashion Week

Chanel

Its not Paris Fashion Week without a spectacular Chanel show, although this seasons show was rather understated from Karl Lagerfeld and the Chanel team. But it emphasised the collection that featured a lot of classic Chanel moments. The collection also has a very strong equestrian theme, featuring riding boots and tailored riding jackets. There was also an apparent 80’s twist, although I did feel some of the looks looked as though they had stepped out of Clueless (check out the red checked look above).

 

Giambattista Valli

Giambattista Valli is amazing evening wear designer that produces the most whimsical and romantic gowns. This was also one of the few collections to be showcased that was mostly evening wear which is strange coming from Paris. Cocktail dresses were the main focus of this collection, a lot of the dress featured a 60’s style rolled hem and the collection kept its romantic feel by adding a lot of embroidery and high collars.

 

Zuhair Murad

Murad is the go to designer for amazingly elaborate embellished designs. For his A/W16 collection the designer described his collection as ‘Las Vegas by Night.’ The collection has a rock and roll vibe with lots of black dresses and leather and what Murad describes as ‘biker baroque’ embroidery. The designer also noted that he took inspiration from some of the greats like Cher, Michael Jackson and 90’s supermodels.

 

Elie Saab

Elie Saab is one of my favourite evening wear designers. Like I had said in my previous highlight posts some designers have debuted a reboot to their brands, and Elie was one of the designers to do this in Paris. Its still a very obvious Elie Saab collection with long dresses, lightweight chiffon fabrics and lots of embellishments. But thus collection sees more shorter cocktail style dresses in body con silhouettes and everyday casual outfits featuring leather jackets and boho chic. I think this collection was my favourite from Paris Fashion Week.

 

Vionnet

One of the classic brands of french design showcased a rather simplistic collection compared to other collections shown during the city’s fashion week. The collection was inspired by musical instruments according to the Vionnet team. Some of those instruments include pianos, harpsichord and the accordion and the music to accompany the show was a simplistic mixture of those instruments.

It was an exciting month of fashion and I hope you enjoyed reading these posts and I certainly enjoyed writing them. I look forward to see what will come from the fashion shows later on in the year for S/S17.

Until next time

Stephanie

x

Leave a Reply

