London Fashion Week AW16 – Highlights

Hi guys!

We are back again after an amazing week of shows coming out of London. With some signature London backdrops we have seen some colourful, demure and conservative collections take to the catwalk this season. Just like New York before we saw a huge variation between each designer and saw designers take on a new approach to their brands.

So here are my highlights from:

London Fashion Week

Burberry

As always it isn’t London Fashion Week without the Burberry show. One of the main events on the LFW schedule. The Burberry collection was filled with clashing patterns, casual dresses and my favourite, military jackets. The colours for this collection were keeping to the darker hues, with accents of brighter colours and metallics. Overall the Burberry collection was very wearable and easy to replicate in Autumn/Winter.

Erdem

One of my favourite British designers, this was one of the shows I was keeping an eye out for. This was one of the designers during LFW that showed something slightly different to what we are used to seeing. There was still plenty of embroidery and florals which is my favourite thing about Erdem. But this season we saw a lot of baggy waists, ruffles and column silhouettes. This collection has a heavy vintage feel to it with inspiration taken from 1920’s, 30’s and 40’s. Erdem, the designer himself said he was inspired by 20’s shifts, 30’s bias cut gowns and 40’s tailoring. Another beautiful collection from Erdem with a re telling of tension with a splash of glamour and surrealism.

Belstaff

If you saw my menswear collection post you will have seen I included Belstaff in that too. But the brand creates the most amazing garments and their jackets are sensational. I love every piece from this collection. Not only does the collection feature a lot of leather which the brand is well known for but there is also a lot of cable knits and faux sheepskins. The colour scheme will work great with Autumn/Winter and is very versatile with Black, White, Camel and Grey taking the main stage with little pops of red to finish it off. If I could I would buy every single piece for my wardrobe come August. I better start saving!

Alexander McQueen

This collection reminded me of why I fell in love with this brand so many years ago now. I have always struggled to connect with the brand since McQueen’s death. But Sarah Burton has fully embraced McQueeb’s legacy with this collection and reminded everyone of just how he became a celebrated British designer. This collection has the craftsmanship and elegance of a Haute Couture collection, with the savile row style tailoring and hand stitched embroidery. I also liked the fairytale feel and almost Alice and Wonderland style inspiration of this collection. It was truly special.

Mary Katrantzou

To me Mary is the goddess of printed textiles. She knows how to make digital textiles work together and to be as bold as possible. This season there was more embellishment and different textile experimentation throughout her collection. Her inspiration was 1950’s western, with lots of checked fabrics and star motifs. Throughout the collection there was lots oaf wearable looks including a variety of shirt dress with bold embroidery. This was a fantastic bright and bold collection and was a great contrast to some of the other collections shown during the week.

Another fantastic fashion week, and as I’m writing this Milan Fashion Week is currently taking place and already shown some amazing collections. So I can’t wait to start writing up next weeks post.

I hope you enjoyed this post and I will see you next week

Stephanie

x

Leave a Reply

