New York Fashion Week F/W16: Highlights

Over the weekend New York Fashion Week took place showcasing the latest Autumn/Winter collections for this year. This time of year in the fashion world is extremely busy and fast paced. So there is a good chance that if you blink you will miss a whole load of shows and trends that everyone is talking about. There is is also a good chance that you will not remember what city has their fashion week on what weekend. Most of the time all I can remember is that New York is first. So over the rest of the month I am going to put together my highlights from each fashion week up here on blog so you can take a look and see which collections you like for yourself.

First up is New York

Victoria Beckham

This collection saw Victoria going back to her classic hourglass silhouettes, with a range of corsets, body con shaping and high waists. The collection has a slight punk look to it with the use of checks and raw hems. One particular detail to note is some garment have the Prince of Wales check and a bright wax thread has used t create extra lines of pattern.

Self Portrait

I absolutely love Self Portrait and want to own one of his dresses so much. The lace work id my favourite part about his work and the A/W16 collection is no exception. A slightly different collection to his previous, usually we a used to seeing cocktail dress with nipped in waists but this time we tighter fitting and asymmetric garments.

Marchesa

Georgina Chapman and Karen Craig are the goddesses of evening gowns. I think their A/W16 collection is their best yet. This collection is regal elegance and showcases their ability with embroidery and fabric manipulation perfectly. I just wish I had been in the front row to see this collection first hand.

Monique Lhuillier

Monique Lhuillier is one of my absolute favourite designers. I love every collection she releases. Like a lot of designers this season she has gone for a slightly different approach with her A/W16 collection. There is less focus on skirts and dresses this season and a  inclusion of outerwear and knits.

Reem Acra

This is not a designer I usually follow but while scrolling through the runway photos this collection caught my eye. Its very gothic and busy but the attention to detail is amazing. The draping and sheer overskirts are my favourite parts to this collection.

Brandon Maxwell

Another designer I stumbled across while researching for this post. The first thing that pulled me in was the tailoring and then after that I realised the whole collection was black and white which is amazing. I also loved the simplicity to this collection it makes you pay attention to the details and style features to the garments.

So thats my personal highlights of New York Fashion Week, but this is just a few as well. There are so many amazing collection from the Big Apple this year. Another few collections you should check out are Carolina Herrera, Christian Siriano, Michael Kors, Kate Spade and Rag & Bone.

I got all my photos and research from Style.com which is run by Vogue. It is the go to sit for all the latest catwalk shows from around the world, you can also watch live streams of shows too. There is also an amazing free app too which makes it easier to access the website on the go.

I hope you enjoyed this post and I will see you this time next week for all the highlights from London Fashion Week.

Stephanie

x

Leave a Reply

