Favourite Beauty Products of 2015

Favs2015-9

Throughout 2015 I was a little bit more adventurous with my choice of beauty products. Acne has always been a big part of my life and I have always struggled to find a skincare product that has had long term results. So last year I set it upon myself to find some new and exciting products to improve my skin. And I found just that.

Favs2015-8

Goldfaden MD Doctor’s Scrub

I found this product in Space NK when I was originally looking to purchase Sunday Riley’s Good Gene Serum. But after speaking to one of the sales assistants she recommended a couple of products, one of which was the daily scrub from Goldfaden MD. The grainy ruby crystals are gentle enough for this scrub to be used everyday. The product not only clears away dead surface cells but it is also formulated with Hyaluronic Acid to leave skin hydrated, clearer and younger looking. After every application of this product my skin was left feeling fresh and smooth, but mostly healthy and radiant. This product is definitely worth a try if you are someone like me who has rough skin and large pores. It is a little pricy, its priced at £65 but the product does last a while and you definitely get your money’s worth.

Goldfaden MD Doctor’s Scrub – Space NK

Favs2015-6

Algenist with Alguronic Acid Gel Moisturiser 

This was another product I bought last year from Space NK which was also recommended by the lovely sales assistant (I wish I got her name because I hate calling her sales assistant haha!). But originally I have always left moisturisers out of my regime mainly because they confused me or I didn’t know how best to use them for my skin type. This Algenist moisturiser is a pore corrector so again its a perfect product and it works really well with the Goldfaden MD scrub. My skin hasn’t felt dry since I started using it and has created a great base for applying my make up.

Algenist Multi-Perfecting Pore Corrector Gel – Space NK

Favs2015-2

Pixi by Petra Glow Tonic

Believe it or not I got this item out of my Beauty Advent Calendar at Christmas. I’ve never used Pixi before but I’ve seen their products and I’ve always liked how simple the packaging is. For me, I always like to look out for toners that are more natural based toners. Previously I was using Lush Tea Tree Toner Water which is a great product to use when you are dealing with breakouts. The Pixi Glow Tonic contains Aloe Vera and Ginseng but also 5% Glycolic Acid which helps rejuvenate the skin, and also helps leave the skin looking more brighter and clearer. I have noticed a difference in my skin tone, especially after applying my foundation, since I’ve started using it. This product may not be for everyone. I know toners are a more complex product to choose for your skin type as there are so many out there and so many with different benefits. But if you have acne prone skin or sensitive skin. I would suggest sticking with toners that have natural extracts and some form of acid as this is what helps to rejuvenate your skin.

Pixi Glow Tonic – Marks and Spencer

Jo Malone Colognes 

This year I discovered the cologne range from Jo Malone. I couldn’t believe it has taking me so long to realise that Jo Malone’s scents come in a bottle that you can spray all over your body! I’ve always loved a good perfume and I do have quite a few. But recently I have been more drawn to more simplistic scents, ones that have one or two notes and thats why I have completely head over heels fallen in love with Jo Malone’s scents. I currently have Peony and Blush Suede, and Blackberry and Bay (which I also have as a candle and bath soap). So it safe to say I will be visiting Jo Malone a lot more in 2016.

Jo Malone Cologne – Blackberry and Bay

Favs2015-3.jpg

Stila One Step Correct Serum

This is the first of three make up products I’ve enjoyed in 2015. Before using this primer I used to use Benefit’s Porefessional primer. But I didn’t feel like that was truly working for me and especially since I was using skincare products that were dealing with my pore’s anyway. I also found that the Porefessional primer dried out my skin in certain areas. So I knew I wanted to get a new primer, so I got the Stila primer instead. The primer focuses on evening out skin tone and illuminating skin. It creates a smooth and even base for applying my foundation. Its super lightweight, it isn’t oily or sticky and doesn’t leave any green marks on the face. All in all this is such a great product and would work for any skin type.

Stila One Step Correcting and Brightening Serum – Marks and Spencer

Favs2015-4Favs2015-5

Dermacolor Camouflage Creme Palette (Kryolan)

I got this palette for my Christmas in 2015 so it hasn’t been in my life for that long but I have completely fallen in love with it. I was first introduced to this product while watching one of My Pale Skin’s videos (I’ve put a video of her using this product below). I was fascinated by how pigmented this product was and how well it covers blemishes. I was dying to try this product out as I have always struggled to find a concealer that basically does the job, conceals. And I am never changing this concealer as its the best one I’ve had. The other good thing is it is a palette so you get a variety of tones to deal with certain problem areas. For example; the greyer tones can be used to counteract redness and the paler tones can be used on the neck area. This product isn’t too pricy for what your getting plus the brush is pretty good concealer brush too.

Dermacolor Camouflage Creme Quintet – Kryolan

Favs2015-7

Urban Decay Naked Smoky Palette

Who doesn’t love an Urban Decay Naked palette? Unfortunately for me I never splurged out on one until last year when they released the Smoky palette. Which I know now was completely stupid of me because now I want them all! Although it may look like a palette that you can only create evening looks with. I have managed to create some really nice day day looks with the shimmery golds and pale base colours. And of course you can create some daring and dark smoky eyes. All the colours are highly pigmented and easily blended. I love this palette, but I don’t really need to convince you that Urban Decay Naked palette is worth the money because lets face it, we all know it is. I can’t wait to see what possible new palettes will be released by Urban Decay this year.

Urban Decay Naked Smoky Palette – Urban Decay

Favs2015-10

I hope you all enjoyed 2015 and found some amazing beauty products yourself. If you would like to share any of your discoveries, please leave a comment below.

Hopefully 2016 will be filled with even more beauty discoveries and I’ll make sure to let you guys know when I they come along.

Until next time

Stephanie

x

Leave a Reply

