What I’m Listening To: Scottish Bands

Hey Guys,

I know this isn’t a Christmas themed post but I thought it would be good to break up the Christmas posts with some general posts that I’ve been wanting to do. And I also don’t want to post all my Christmas posts up and have nothing left for nearer the day.

So as you know if you have red my blog regularly I write a lot about my favourite movies from time to time and you seem to really like them. So this time I thought I would let you see what type of music I’m into.

If you haven’t guessed already I am from Scotland and we have quite a rich music scene in Scotland and always kind of have. We have given the world Annie Lennox, Calvin Harris and The Proclaimers. A lot of the music that comes out of Scotland though is bands, bands like Primal Scream, Simple Minds and Biffy Clyro all started their bands in Glasgow. Some of my favourite music has come from Scotland and give you a little introduction into my favourite bands that hail from Bonny Scotland.

P R / D E S

Formed in Glasgow, this band is one of the newest bands on he scene. They are a synthpop band made up of friends Stewart Brock (lead vocals and keys), Callum Wiseman (guitar, piano and vocals) and Lewis Gardner (drums). Prides got their break in 2014 when they released their first EP and performed at the closing ceremony for the Commonwealth Games where they performed their hit single ‘Messiah.’ This year marked the release of their debut album ‘The Way Back Up.’ This is a brilliant album with a great sound with 80’s synth inspired beats. I don’t think there is one song I don’t like. There is a good balance of uptempo songs and ballads. For me a lot of these songs are my feel good jams, I love to sing along and feel happy while listening to their album. Although Stewart has noted that, for him, a lot of these songs have negative messages and were inspired by tough moments in his life. But I suppose that goes to show that people interpret things differently.

This band is worth a listen, they are my favourite band at the moment. I’ve included a few videos here from their YouTube channel.

 

CHVRCHES

chvrches

 

Another band formed in Glasgow. This alternative dance/synth-pop band is made up of members Lauren Mayberry (lead vocals), Iain Cook, and Martin Doherty. They formed in 2011 but it wasn’t until 2013 that they got their big break and their popularity has been growing fast since. Their ┬ásong ‘The Mother We Share’ got every bodies attention and was the song that helped them break into America. 2013 also saw the release of their debut album ‘The Bones of What You Believe.’ 2015 was another big year for the band when they released their second album ‘Every Open Eye’ and announced their 2016 tour. Their music has also appeared on motion picture soundtracks for Drive and The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Pt1. Although they have a electronic dance sound I find them easy to listen to especially as don’t always like dance inspired music. Their music isn’t too heavy or over the top but still a great sound to dance along to.

You probably have more than likely heard some of Chvrches music before as they are more well know than the other bands I am talking about. But I have included some videos of their music anyway.

 

FATHERSON

fatherson

This band isn’t from Glasgow but they are from Kilmarnock which isn’t actually that far away from Glasgow. Fatherson formed in Kilmarnock in 2010 and are quite different from the other two bands as they are a Indie Rock band. The band have had steady success since 2010 with a huge amount of public and professional support. Since their beginning they have supported bands like Panic at the Disco, Twin Atlantic and Enter Shikari. The band is made up of Ross Leighton (guitar and vocals), Marc Strain (bass) and Greg Walkinshaw (drums). The band have released two EPs; ‘Hometown’ (2011) and ‘Where the Water Meets the Land’ (2010), and a debut studio album ‘I am an Island’ (2014). I am fairly new in discovering this band and I am lucky to have heard this band first live, while they were supporting Prides last month. I am still exploring this band and all their music but I immediately connected with the band’s sound and they are definitely worth a listen. If you like bands like Twin Atlantic, Royal Blood and The 1975 then you’ll like these guys.

I have included some music videos and again so you can get a bit of a taste of the band.

 

I hope you enjoyed this blog, it was something a bit different. I hope to do something like this again, maybe not as long but these are some of my favourite bands especially Prides so I got bit carried away, again. Please feel free to leave any comments.

I will see you next time with some more Christmas posts

Midnight

x

 

Leave a Reply

