Movies I Watched Growing Up

As I have mentioned before I am a big film fanatic and I am pretty sure it all started when I grew up obsessed with Disney films. But to be honest my film interest has mainly stayed alight due to being lucky enough to have met people with the same common interest.

Just like books, films is a way to escape reality and I love nothing more than to cuddle up into my bed and watch a movie. And over the years I have collected a catalogue full of my favourite movies. Obviously I’m not going to tell you every single movie I watched growing up as this would be a horrendously long post. But I’m going to pick the top 10 movies that were the most impactful to me and the ones that remind me of my childhood while I watch them. And hopefully some of these will take you down memory lane too 🙂

  1. The Land Before Time
THE LAND BEFORE TIME, Littlefoot as a baby, 1988, (c)Universal

THE LAND BEFORE TIME, Littlefoot as a baby, 1988, (c)Universal

I had to add this movie first as I think I saw this movie before I saw any Disney movie. As a child I was obsessed with this move and absolutely loved Little Foot. I love the story to this movie and its a lot more hard hitting than The Lion King, I still cry watching it now (yes I still watch it) even though I’ve watched it a billion times. Its just an amazing film.

I’m always reminded that as a child on a family trip to Florida I screamed down Universal Studios for the Little Foot plush toy I saw in one of the shops, I was eventually given him as I was that loud it was the only way to stop me it would seem. I still have him today which makes him about 18 years old.

Look how cute he is though!!

2. The Lion King

Disney's The Lion King, 1994

THE LION KING, (1994), Disney

Whoever said Disney make movies that feature damsels in distress, woman lowering their values for love or they find a Prince Charming clearly doesn’t have a big disney catalogue under their belt. A lot of my favourite Disney movies didn’t include any of these themes, or if they did they didn’t phase me in the slightest. Anyway wouldn’t you be a bit worried if you were with a partner and didn’t see them as a Prince Charming?

Anyway, The Lion King. My all time favourite Disney movie, I couldn’t tell you how many copies of this movie I went through because I basically had it on repeat. Although its a bit of a tearjerker, (Mufasa R.I.P) it is still an upbeat and catchy film. The music of course was what drew me in as child and also the fact that Simba and Nala are lions, come on what wasn’t to love!

Favourite Song – Circle of Life

3. The Hunchback of Notre Dame

thehunchback1995

THE HUNCHBACK OF NOTRE DAME, (1995), Disney

This was one of the first Disney movies that I watched and just like The Lion King I was obsessed with it. To this day it is one of the Disney movies I prefer to watch. I can remember that Esmerelda’s red festival dress was the first disney costume I got as a little girl.

When I was a little girl I loved Esmerelda because she was a strong, fierce woman and that she was a great dancer. But growing up with this movie I’ve seen the different strong messages involved including acceptance and not judging people by their front cover. I also think this movie has the best music and songs, and its definitely underrated.

Favourite Song – God Help The Outcasts

4. The Little Mermaid

THE LITTLE MERMAID, 1989, Disney

THE LITTLE MERMAID, 1989, Disney

Who didn’t love Ariel? Although now being 23 years old I’ve come to realise how ill behaved Ariel was considering she was only 16 in the film. Basically every parents nightmare, I feel sorry for King Triton.

But again with another catchy soundtrack and colourful princess story its hard not to love this film. Not only that Ariel was a mermaid, and I was guilty of pretending to be a mermaid as soon as I was in any depth of water.

Favourite Song – Part of your World

5. Beauty and the Beast

BEAUTY AND THE BEAST, 1992, Disney

BEAUTY AND THE BEAST, 1992, Disney

This was my favourite Disney Princess movie, and Belle is my favourite princess mainly because I like to think I look like her. Especially as a child as I was so happy she had the same colour of hair as me.

I loved the magic in this movie, I loved how all the characters were objects from the castle and that they spoke and danced. I was also a big fan of Belle’s yellow ball gown as I’m sure most girls were. Watching the movie now I particularly love the detail that was put into every scene, especially the ball room seen above.

Favourite song – Belle

6. Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory

WILLY WONKA AND THE CHOCOLATE FACTORY, 1971, Warner Brothers

WILLY WONKA AND THE CHOCOLATE FACTORY, 1971, Warner Brothers

I’ve heard that some people find this movie freaky and an all round obscure movie to watch, which I suppose it should be because its a Roald Dahl story. But I loved this movie so much as a child. I remember whenever I stayed at my grans I would watch the same movies over and over again, this one was included. Even though my gran was probably sick and tired of watching the same thing over and over again she was still happy to let me watch it and we would sing along.

7. The Swan Princess

THE SWAN PRINCESS, 1994, 21st Century Fox

THE SWAN PRINCESS, 1994, 21st Century Fox

This one of the best non disney princess movies. The Swan Princess is a child friendly retelling of the Swan Lake story. Its a such a nice story about friendship and love and it was another movie I would watch endlessly. This movie was a musical too and there is a lot of catchy song in this too. When I watch it now I think Odette looks like Blake Lively!!

Favourite Song – For Longer Than Forever

8. The Wizard of Oz

THE WIZARD OF OZ, 1939, Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer

THE WIZARD OF OZ, 1939, Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer

This was another movie I would always make my gran watch when I was over at hers. I can remember we would do the dance to the Yellow Brick Road song when it came on, haha I was so cool. While I’m writing this I am trying to remind myself why I liked this movie but I can’t quite remember. I certainly remember being slightly scared of the Wicked Witch of the West. But it has always been a favourite of mine growing up and it has lead to my love towards Wicked too.

9. The Fast and the Furious

THE FAST AND THE FURIOUS, Vin Diesel, 2001, (c) Universal/courtesy Everett Collection

THE FAST AND THE FURIOUS, Vin Diesel, 2001, (c) Universal/courtesy Everett Collection

This is the first franchise I have ever been obsessed with, these were the movies I grew up with during my teen-hood and it gave me my fascination with cars. I can still remember when I first watched the first movie. I was only 12, considering the first movie in the franchise is a 15, and I was at my friends house. I remember feeling really guilty when watching it because I thought my parents would be mad. But I’m glad I watched when I did I don’t what I would do without these movies, they hold a very special place in my heart.

10. The Lord of the Rings

THE LORD OF THE RINGS, 2001, New Line Cinema

THE LORD OF THE RINGS, 2001, New Line Cinema

I surrender, I am a secret die hard Lord of the Rings fan, my inner geek surfaces with anything to do with the LOTR. But its not so much to do with the characters and story or even the community behind it. The fact is the LOTR gave me passion for the film industry because after watching the movie I came to realise that movies don’t just have to be made to tell a story or make money, they can made to bring together a group of creative minds and master artists to make an extraordinary piece of art work. And to me thats what the LOTR is, a masterpiece. I watch it purely to look at the detail behind every piece of scenery, costume, sword and stunt coordination. It has always inspired me creatively and will continue to do so.

This post has turned out longer than what I thought it would, but it has been fun taking a trip down memory lane. Its made me want to watch every one of these movies again.

Let me know if you have any movies you hold close to your childhood and growing up and if any have shaped who you are today.

Until next time

Midnight

x

Leave a Reply

