Degree Project: Design Direction

So it’s been a bit busy over the past couple of days, hence the lack of posts. At the beginning of last week I started researching and designing my degree project, aka the start of year from hell. Even though I am terrified of this final year at university I am also extremely excited. I’m doing something that is out of the box for me, I’ve decided to make a collection out of microencapsulation fabrics (which are fabrics with microscopic capsules embedded into the fabric). I’ve decided to do capsules with fragrance, which burst while the wearer moves around in the garment to reveal the fragrance inside the capsules.

I will be designing my collection for Monique Lhuillier, I love Monique’s work and I always get inspired when I see her Instagram posts. So I took this opportunity to create a collection inspired by her brand. My collection will be designed for Spring/Summer 16, and my design direction (a big surprise here) is Paris!!! I will also be taking a lot of design influence from the 1950s and have been researching the god send of a website WGSN to research trends for 2016.

I’m looking forward to seeing how this collection will turn out and keeping you updated with the process. Here is also some photos I gathered for research and inspiration.

Midnight

X

IMG_0369.JPGIMG_0367.JPG

IMG_0368.JPG

IMG_0366.JPG

IMG_0370.JPG

IMG_0371.JPG

IMG_0372.JPG

IMG_0373.JPG

IMG_0375.JPG

IMG_0374.JPG

IMG_0376.JPG

Leave a Reply

